包豪斯的根源

功能性建筑学。日常使用的朴素设计。建筑结构、室内设计和环境之间和谐共存的关系。密斯凡德罗当今著名的建筑设计哲学:“少就是多”。

像看不见的手一样,这些理念构成了我们所认同的现代主义建筑学和设计的基础,这是始于一个世纪前包豪斯学院的设计哲学遗产。

1919年由德国建筑师瓦尔特·格罗皮乌斯创立的国立包豪斯学校如今被广泛认为是建筑学和设计领域最重要的发展之一。格罗皮乌斯试图将工艺与建筑设计有效地结合起来,使人们不再是建造一所房子,而是唤起它的整体性。包豪斯,或者“建造房屋”。

包豪斯的学生参加了陶艺、印刷工艺、金属工艺、织造工艺、家具细木工艺和舞台艺术的学习,其中许多课程由保罗·克利和马塞尔·布鲁尔等进步知识分子讲授,这些人后来成为了各自领域的巨头。学校在1933被纳粹政权强制关闭,学校最后一任校长密斯·凡·德·罗和学校的所有老师分散到了世界各地。

格罗皮乌斯、布鲁尔和密斯·凡·德·罗最后在美国登陆,他们在哈佛大学和伊利诺理工学院的教学成为了现代主义运动的先锋。在接下来的几十年里,他们利用包豪斯的传承创造出了经久不衰的经典建筑,例如曼哈顿的西格拉姆大厦、芝加哥的印度理工学院校区以及匹兹堡的弗兰克住宅。

包豪斯的传承

一个世纪以后,包豪斯影响深远,尤其是对于Cuscaden Reserve的影响无处不在。28层的建筑安静地坐落在富有的乌节路周边,光滑的玻璃塔楼和独特的金翅造型极为优美,及时地向包豪斯的建筑表达了敬意。

SCDA建筑师事务所的首席设计师Soo K.Chan先生在实践过程中严格遵守包豪斯的宗旨。他在华盛顿大学读书期间师从莱斯利·拉斯基,莱斯利·拉斯基是拉兹洛·莫霍利·纳吉(包豪斯教师之一)的门生。

他对于Cuscaden Reserve的理念是建立一个统一而连贯的整体,包豪斯的理念被发展为以适应现代化的需求。随着家庭结构以及生活方式的转变,曾局限于固定空间的家庭活动得到了解放。密斯·凡·德·罗为范斯沃斯住宅设计的开放式空间概念再次得到引用,固定分区定义的空间范式已经过时,新的类型学应运而生。

Cuscaden Reserve的核心设计理念是灵活性。公寓围绕着一个中央核心设施,包括厨房、浴室等,因此可以极大限度地发挥可变性,以便创造滑动门、定制空间和生活氛围。

如同包豪斯的从业者对项目的控制,SCDA的团队定制和设计了所有的磨光工作,并与所有的工匠一起制作橱柜和木制品,照明和景观也被打造得极为精美。为了向马塞尔-布鲁尔致敬,这座塔楼悬空于地面,园林景观从下面穿梭而过。

结果正如Soo K.Chan先生所描述的“与室内设计的完美融合,一次完美无瑕的设计体验”。这既表达了对地段的敬意,也表达了对包豪斯百年历史的敬意。

向SC环球登记您的兴趣

请填写您的详细信息,我们的销售团队的会在短时间内联系您。抢先获取独家项目信息。

立即注册

THE ROOTS OF BAUHAUS

Functional architecture. The harmonious, symbiotic relationship between the architecture of a building, its interiors, and the setting. Mies van der Rohe’s now famous diktat: Less is more.

Like an invisible hand, these ideals form the very basis of modernist architecture and design that we take for granted. The legacy of a design philosophy that began a century ago in the Bauhaus school.

Founded in 1919 by the German architect Walter Gropius, the Bauhaus is widely regarded today as one of the most important developments in architecture and design. Gropius’s goal was to bridge and seal the gap between craftsmanship and architecture, so that one no longer built a house, but rather, one invoked its totality, the Bauhaus, or ‘house of building’.

Bauhaus students took workshops in pottery, typography, metalwork, weaving and carpentry, with many taught by progressive intellectuals like Paul Klee and Marcel Breuer, who would become giants in their fields. When the school was forced to close in 1933 by the Nazis, Mies van der Rohe, the school’s last director, and all its teachers scattered across the world.

Gropius, Breuer and Mies van der Rohe eventually landed in America where their teachings would form the vanguard for the modernist movement; and, over the next few decades would harness the legacy of the Bauhaus to produce enduring classics such as the Seagram building in Manhattan and Farnsworth House in Illinois.

THE BAUHAUS LEGACY

A century later, the Bauhaus influence is far reaching and nowhere more so than in Cuscaden Reserve. Rising 28-storeys, the sleek glass tower with its distinctive gold fins was conceived as a timely homage to the Bauhaus. For lead architect Soo Chan of SCDA, the rigours of the Bauhaus discipline has long been a driving force in his practice, not least because he had studied under Leslie Laskey at Washington University, who was a protégé of Lázló Moholy-Nagy, one of the Bauhaus teachers.

Together with long-time collaborator SC Global, his vision for Cuscaden Reserve is that of a unified and coherent ensemble where Bauhaus principles are developed to suit modern needs. With changes in family structures and how people live, Mies van der Rohe’s open plan concept for the Farnsworth House is relevant once more, as the paradigm of spaces defined by fixed partitions becomes obsolete and new typologies emerge.

Flexibility is at the heart of Cuscaden Reserve with apartments designed around a centralised core comprising the kitchen, bathroom and the like. This allows maximum adaptability as sliding doors create, at will, bespoke spaces and mood.

“The result is a perfect integration with the interior to complete the design experience.”

Just as Bauhaus practitioners took control of a project, SCDA’s team customised and designed all millworks, and worked with artisans to craft cabinetry and woodworks. The lush foregrounds and the landscaping were curated to their precise diktats. In a gentle nod to Marcel Breuer, the tower is lifted off the ground in a cantilevered fashion to allow the landscape to literally flow under and through it.

The result is a design in harmony with its location, and a tribute to the centenary of the founding of the Bauhaus.

Register your interest direct with SC Global

Please fill in your details and our sales team will be in contact with you shortly. Be among the first to know about exclusive project news and information.

Register Now